Very Cool Parts

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Looking to build a Type 65 in the near future

Post Thanks / Like

Looking to build a Type 65 in the near future

Hi guys,
    I'm 14 and im a total noob to car building, the only mechanical thing ive ever done was change a tire. So im a game designer and my game, Corona MotorSport, is about to go live on Steam for sale, steams just a place to sell pc games but anyways ill be making enough money to purchase the complete kit plus the parts and tools required. I'm stuck between the type 65 and the ac cobra because they are both very affordable to build and seem easier than the GTM supercar. I want to go with the type 65 because it has a roof and air conditioning and the ac cobra's roof is another 3 grand and it looks very difficult to modify to install air conditioning. I'd be really happy if i could keep the total under 30k and not more than 35k. And how long would it take to build the car if i worked on it maybe 4 hours a day (get home from high school at 2 so usually have a lot of time) and sometimes have a couple friends or parents help? I've heard it could take between a few months to 10 years. I wanted to spend a max of 1-2 years on this car because by that time i can legally drive it. So is this a good first project to tackle or should i just go buy a car?

And since im a noob, what engine, transmission, and rear end (idk what that is lol) would you guys recommend that are reasonably priced? not looking for too much power, anything with similar specs to the sub 30k muscle cars out there is perfectly fine (mustang, camaro, etc). I wanted to install everything myself then get it checked out by a mechanic and professionally painted at a shop. Oh and what tools are needed for assembly? I know i need an engine hoist and a wrench but im clueless on the rest lol. I have an AutoZone like 5 minutes away from my house. And how long does it usually take for a kit to arrive?