Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dougs MK4 Build

Post Thanks / Like

Dougs MK4 Build

Hello all,
    I have been working on the build for a couple of months now although repeating each step no less than three times slows me down a bit. If this continues it only seems fair that I get to list three builds on my profile when I am finished. My plan is to take the next couple of weeks and catch up on the posts. In addition to being my first build, this is my first post so feel free to set me straight if I need to do something differently.

I began putting my FFR order together early in the year. I was having trouble deciding on a few key options like rear suspension and seats when I decided to attend the Mott College build school. I highly recommend to anyone that is considering a build and having trouble getting off the starting block. The instructors are top notch with years of experience and many tips that will save time and money all along the build. The school also had most of the kit options on hand so that by the time I came home I had my order complete.

Here is what I ended up with:
    • MKIV complete kit
    • Powder coated chassis
    • Set up for 351w
    • Body cutouts
    • IRS independent rear suspension
    • 17” Halibrand replica wheels
    • Wilwood brake upgrade

The next step was to visit Gordon Levy Raving in Arizona to get the engine and transmission on order. Gordon is active on many of the build threads that I had been following and at the time had built over 150 FFR cars. While I was there, he had several cars at various phases of the build process and a few completed cars. That added to the excitement because I can count the number of times on one hand that I have seen this type of car in my central California home town.
    • Stage 5 408 with Dart block upgrade for 427cid
    • MSD ignition system
    • One wire alternator
    • High torque starter
    • Tremec T600RR