FormaCars

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Engine Bay Firewall Aluminum

Post Thanks / Like

Engine Bay Firewall Aluminum

Hi-

I've been reading and (slowly) building over the past year or so. This is my first build like this and the forum has been invaluable.

I've seen where several folks have made their own rear firewall (attaching to the tubing just in front of the engine). I like the idea and am looking to duplicate it.

Does anyone have a dimensioned sketch of this area with cut-outs for the suspension mounting bits? If no one's done one, I'll take a crack at it in Sketchup and post it, but if I can borrow what's already done....one less thing for the "to-do" list.

I'm wanting to get the shape cnc plasma cut and installed before I try to drop the engine in this weekend.

Thanks!

--Will

Post Thanks / Like
    Are you just going to the edge of the frame or are you also going to extend out to the side sails? If the partition only goes to the frame, it will only be cosmetic and at best help keep the gas tank, cables and wires a little cleaner. Also, if you extend to the side sails, what is your strategy to vent the fuel area to prevent the vapors from reaching an explosive level of concentration?

Moonlight Performance
    Post Thanks / Like
    You can put it in front of the frame, or behind the frame. I put mine behind the frame - looks cleaner. No template sorry. I just used cardboard to get the shape right, then transferred it to aluminum. It's 4 pieces in total and secured with self-tapping sheet metal screws so it can be removed if needed (thought it would be a pain).

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Hindsight View Post