BluePrint Engines

Visit our community sponsor

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: First AAA Ride Home @ 7,000 miles

  1. #1

    First AAA Ride Home @ 7,000 miles

    First AAA Ride Home @ 7,000 miles

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Went out to Bob's to use his lift to see if I could sport the cause of the right hand turn noise. Went for a quick spin to duplicate the noise for Bob.

    Gave the car a quick squirt in 2nd. Car was quick but did not run as hard as usual. Went back & put the car up & found nothing suggesting any contact between parts that are not supposed to touch.

    Bob save me some trouble when it spotted a main power wire that had come loose from a hold down & was rubbing on the drive shaft. Because I has sheathed all my wires only the protection had rubbed through. We wire tied it back in place & I will install a fresh hold down.

    On the was home the engine cut out under load going onto the interstate. Did this once or twice. Not a misfire just zero power. Steady 2500ROM for about 20 miles. Car started not reacting to the gas pedal on upgrades. Would cut out then catch.

    Eventually about 7 miles from home it quit altogether. Called AAA. About 45 minutes we were loaded & on the way.
    Excellent driver. Took care to see the car was not scraped by the chains & dropped it in my garage.

    Shuffled the cars around on the driveway then went it to check the COBRA. It started right up on the key turn.

    Any thoughts?
    __________________
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    1,467
    Kevin-

    Take a look at your ignition switch. I had a similar problem on an old car. Stumped me for a long time, and acted just as you described. It was the ignition, and worked great after being replaced. You may just have a loose wire, although a bad switch cannot be ignored.

    Good luck with it!

    Regards,


    Steve

  3. #3
    Steady 2500 rpm seems like "limp home" mode but quitting completely and then starting right up is something else. At least we found the "soon to be rubbed through" main power wire!
    The brief squirt in 2nd gear sure impressed me!

    boB

  4. #4
    Mr Bear

    I had a truck that on level no problem but up any hill or load would just creep along. Turned out to be
    the fuel filter. 7000 miles doesn't seem right mine had about 70000 but just something to check.
    MKIV 8851 Complete LS3 376/480 4L70e Auto 2015 IRS 15" Wheels Undercar Exhaust

    Ordered 2/25/16 Delivered 3/26/16

  5. #5
    Thank for the input will play with it tomorrow.
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

  6. #6
    Senior Member edwardb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lake Orion, Michigan
    Posts
    3,140
    If whatever happened was Coyote related, in theory it should have been logged by the PCM. Reading for trouble codes would be a logical first step. Sounds like something fuel related though. Filter as mentioned or the pump itself. That could cause it to be intermittent.

    Your post reminded me to make sure I have the roadside assistance information in my Roadster. I don't have AAA, but have it as a rider on my insurance. Just printed the numbers and included with my registration and other insurance information I keep in the car.
    Last edited by edwardb; 04-21-2017 at 06:43 AM.
    Build 1: Mk3 Roadster #5125. Sold 11/08/2014.
    Build 2: Mk4 Roadster #7750. Sold 04/10/2017. #7750 Build Thread
    Build 3: Mk4 Roadster 20th Anniversary #8674. 03 of 20. Deliv: 08/05/2015. 2015-2017 Coyote. Legal 04/18/2017. Red/white club for the third time. #8674 Build Thread

  7. #7
    was there fuel in it
    The traveling Builder
    717-773-5624

  8. #8
    Senior Member KDubU's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Kennebunk, ME
    Posts
    206
    Agreeing with fuel as the issue or at least it seems like that based on how you describe it.
    Kyle

    Complete Kit pickup 09/05/2015, 351w, QF680, 3.55, 3-Link, 15" Halibrands with MT's, thinking Viking blue with Wimbledon white stripes.

  9. #9
    Fuel was my gut reaction when it happened. Was too noisy on the highway but not sure I could hear the fuel pump when it died. Will also check the ignition switch wiring & was planning to hook up the code reader this morning but had a DR. appointment

    Car has 3/4 of a tank, filled the other day after a 2.5 hour run at speed 75/80MPH. No issues that day.
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Heart of Dixie, Alabama
    Posts
    170
    Just guessing without more info, but check the air inlet hoses and connection. Unmetered air will upset the system similar to what you described. A unresponsive pedal, should throw a code. If the computer finds something out of range it will prevent operation, unresponsive throttle, until corrected. I will be watching this for sure. Good luck,
    I saw an engine pull open the silicone hose coupling on the cold air induction, while under power in a right hand turn. On a straight or left turn the engine movement would not pull it open. If the air filter is mounted to a stationary mount and the engine moves, a greater chance this can happen.
    Last edited by Railroad; 04-21-2017 at 09:49 AM.
    20th Anniversary Mk IV, A50XS Coyote, TKO 600, Trunk Drop Box, Trunk Battery Box, Cubby Hole, Seat Heaters, Radiator hanger and shroud.

  11. #11
    Just stuck my face out there for a quick look, intake hoses & sensor is solid & plug is good. Thanks for the input its not something I would have thought to look at.

    Cant do much till tomorrow but can take a quick look at obvious stuff.
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

  12. #12


    Not a waxer
    Jeff Kleiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    2,615
    I can't see it running at a steady 2500 for 20 miles if it is not getting fuel.

    Jeff

  13. #13
    Hi Jeff,

    When I pushed on the gas pedal a bit to maintain speed on a rise in the road it would go dead for a few seconds then pick up spedd but would jerk on occasion. If I relaxed the pedal it would come back to life (till it died) for a while. Seems to be throttle related till it died all together.

    When it got home, about an hour since it died, it started right off & idled OK. The flatbed drive dropped in in my garage & the driveway was loaded with everybody getting in for dinner so I just shut it down because I could not take it outside. Think its the electronic throttle? Expect that will throw an error code when I get the tuning tool on it.

    Thing that made me think fuel delivery is it got worse (more frequent cut outs) as I got closer to home
    Last edited by BEAR-AvHistory; 04-21-2017 at 12:15 PM.
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

  14. #14
    Fuel pump or pressure regulator (if equipped) possibly?
    There are 10 types of people in this world;
    those who understand binary and those who don't.

  15. #15
    Yeah, but from what I understand is the external pumps are a weak spot. Will put in a fresh filter regardless. Need to put the pressure gauge back in to check the regulator. Car requires 55PSI in the line pump switch on but car not running.
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

  16. #16
    Pulled 3 error codes P0050 P0059 P0155 which all seam to refer to a heater control. That said when I turned on the car the fuel pump (external) used to be really loud. Today it barely humming. Car started so I could get it out of the garage & let it run. Driveway is too steep & curves to chance putting it into the street at this point. Would be a real killer to get back in if my small tractor can't pull it up the hill. Not enough room to get it to a flat spot with my pickup.
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

  17. #17
    Senior Member edwardb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lake Orion, Michigan
    Posts
    3,140
    Quote Originally Posted by BEAR-AvHistory View Post
    Pulled 3 error codes P0050 P0059 P0155 which all seam to refer to a heater control. That said when I turned on the car the fuel pump (external) used to be really loud. Today it barely humming. Car started so I could get it out of the garage & let it run. Driveway is too steep & curves to chance putting it into the street at this point. Would be a real killer to get back in if my small tractor can't pull it up the hill. Not enough room to get it to a flat spot with my pickup.
    Those codes are heater related. But specific to the heater function of the O2 sensors, all three specifically for Bank 2 Sensor 1. Not the space heater if that's what you're thinking. You might have an O2 sensor going out. I wouldn't think a failing O2 sensor would cause either a no-start or limp mode. But it still is probably something you should look at. Do you have an MIL and was it lit? If you have a scanner that reads actual data, not just codes, you may be able to see how long the codes have been out there.

    If the fuel pump sounds different that's concerning for sure. Low or no output would seem consistent with what happened.
    Last edited by edwardb; 04-22-2017 at 02:45 PM.
    Build 1: Mk3 Roadster #5125. Sold 11/08/2014.
    Build 2: Mk4 Roadster #7750. Sold 04/10/2017. #7750 Build Thread
    Build 3: Mk4 Roadster 20th Anniversary #8674. 03 of 20. Deliv: 08/05/2015. 2015-2017 Coyote. Legal 04/18/2017. Red/white club for the third time. #8674 Build Thread

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Espanola, Ontario
    Posts
    157
    Some people set their fuel pressure then take the gauge off. I left my gauge in place. I want to be able to see what the pressure is. A troubleshooting tool. Just like I want to see what my oil pressure and the actual engine temperature is. The FFR gauges are relative. I keep the tuner plugged in and use it in "monitor" mode. I'm reading the same data the Coyote ECM receives.
    Last edited by Dave Howard; Yesterday at 01:45 PM.

  19. #19
    Thanks for the info - will check the sensors & yes it did refer to a bank but I did not understand what it meant. Agee on the pressure gauge. I took mine off once the car was tuned - too many horror stories of chicken fried cobras.

    Will take a look at my handheld for monitor mode its a X4. Also have a smart phone app that connects with a dongle that might be able to look further into it.

    My though was even though for the wrong reason the last of major codes suggests an outside part not the ECU. Other link is the throttle pedal, I don't know if it was cause a fault code if it was going bad.

    Going to pull the rear wheels tomorrow & check the brakes. One if the guys with the right hand turn noise tracked it to the brake pads. Since I did not have the noise before I swapped pads its a good suspect.
    Last edited by BEAR-AvHistory; 04-22-2017 at 02:46 PM.
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Visit our community sponsor