Very Cool Parts

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Helmet Recommendations

Post Thanks / Like

Helmet Recommendations

I plan on doing 3-4 Autocross events each year to learn how to drive my car better. Maybe down the road doing a yearly track event. I am not to keen on wearing a borrowed helmet. It needs to be compatible with eyeglasses and in the $300 to $400 range. Less is okay too.
    Thanks,
    Doug
    Doug
    FFR 7995
    347 SBF Prestige Mototsports, Moser 8.8 (3.31) 3 Link, TKO 600, Nitto 555s, 17" Halibrands, PS, AC, Heat, Color Redfire Pearl, with Wimbledon White Stripes

Post Thanks / Like
    Personally, make sure you get a SA rated helmet (preferably 2015) and If you have the ability, go into a local shop and try stuff on.

I used to work in a shop that sold a TON of safety equipment and the most important thing was comfort. We would tell people to take the helmet, go home, and wear it around the house for a half hour to make sure there were no weird pressure points that caused pain.

I would recommend a Bell Sport for a budget minded purchase because it has a great eye relief for someone who wears glasses, but the most important thing is your own comfort!

Post Thanks / Like
    I just bought the least expensive open faced helmet I could find. It must be Snell approved. YOu can save a little $ if you find a 2010 Snell sticker as the 2015s are out now. But the 2010s will be good for 10 more years. Snell SA or M (motorcycle rating is fine). It MUST have a real Snell sticker. It is inside the helmet and sometimes hard to hard to find under the lining.
    http://www.smf.org/cert