Midwest Classic Insurance

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: engine lifting

Post Thanks / Like

engine lifting

is the best place to bolt the chains and lift the engine on the heads? I am new to this for fords. On Honda you can lift from the heads, on subaru you can actually from the intake manifold spot.

I have a 427w with a tko600 tranny mounted to it already. I just need to go buy the chains to lift it, and drop it in... =)

Post Thanks / Like
    Yes. I have AFR heads and I used a diagonal 2 bolt lift. I used grade 8 bolts with some grade 8 washers and lifted it from 2 bolts, no problemo. I also have a 427W.
    Hurricane HM-2016, 9" Ford w/3.50, 427W, TKO 600.

Post Thanks / Like
    X2 on the grade 8 bolts and washers. Strap chains caddy corner front and back. A load leveler will make the job a lot easier. I picked up one at harbor freight cheap. Just grease the threaded bolt real good. With tranny attached, you gotta put the whole assembly on a pretty good angle to get it to clear. My son helped me with the process and I was sure glad I had another helper on hand. The load leveler allows you to fine tune the angle. The motor will be a little cocked going in but as soon as you land on the mounts, it will settle in. Just take your time and you will be fine.

Post Thanks / Like
    I use a carb plate lift - get them from any auto store

carb-lift.jpg
    James

FFR33 #997 (Gen1 chassis, Gen2 body), license plate DRIVE IT says it all! build thread
    My build: 350SBC, TKO600, hardtop, no fenders/hood, 32 grill, 3 link, sway bars, 355/30r19
    Previous cars: GTD40, Cobra, tubeframe 55 Chevy, 66 Nova, 56 F100

Steve >> aka: GoDadGo
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    I used a bolt in each head with an engine leveler similar to the one shown below:

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/sum-csumg1022kit