Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: New Build - Input on Engine Selection

Post Thanks / Like

New Build - Input on Engine Selection

Hello Everyone,

I am currently finalizing my plans for my own Ford 33 build. I am very excited about the project, but recognize that I am a novice and I hope to tap into the collective wisdom of the community with respect to my plans.

The vision for my build is to produce a car will be for showing and cruising, and I want a high performance vehicle with some old school looks and charm. The look and style of the car is just as important as the performance. I do not plan on doing any racing, but I am still looking to make 500-600 HP. Since the project car is a replica of a Ford 33, I want to use a Ford engine for the build.

The engine that I want will have a roots blower, carbs and a scoop. I am not worried about hood clearance because there will not be a hood on the car. I have been reading about the space limitations in the engine bay of the kit, and that room for the blower pulley is a bit of a problem. Based on my research it seems that a Ford 4.6L 4V DOHC engine with a roots blower will fit. I think that another forum member, Arrowhead, has the same package in his car. I know that will to need fabricate a custom made intake manifold in order to get a 6-71 blower to mate with the heads on Ford engine. I think that the Ford 4.6L engine with roots blower will provide me with the right balance of modern performance and old school looks. It will also be something a bit different than the typical SBC with blower that is very common in street rods.

I am very interested in receiving feedback from Forum members on this plan. Specifically:
    - Will the Ford 4.6L engine with blower pulley fit into the engine bay?
    - Is there a better choice than the Ford 4.6L engine for my stated vision?