Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Engine powerband and HP idea

Post Thanks / Like

Engine powerband and HP idea

I have been researching to build a 818 Coupe down the road. One of the reasons I am choosing the 818 is because it's light weight and is great for autoX track on the weekends with amazing balance for the turns. Something that I have repeatedly seen from other post is that the power output max should usually be about 400 rwhp because the power is too hard to control the car after 400. I'm sure this is plenty of power going through turns but i think the higher power cars would be faster on the straights.

I'm new with smaller engine/turbo combos, but I would think there would be a way to tune and modify the powerband to the high end RPMs where the car is capable of 500+ rwhp on the straights, but on the turns you keep the engine at the lower RPM, less powerful part of a powerband and it would be easier to maintain control. I have heard turbos are fairly adjustable. What do you guys think about this? Also this I would like the car to be fairly streetable as well. TIA

Post Thanks / Like
    I chose the keep my power target on the conservative side for my EJ205, 285hp 276Ft lb Torque. My reason are:
    1) Durability of the drive train, I wanted a higher drive to work on ratio.
    2) Use of pump fuel
    3) My budget
    4) My first experience with a Subaru so I kept it simple. And I figured the car would be fun to drive with my current set up, it is.

Moonlight Performance
    Post Thanks / Like