Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Body Work Concerns

Post Thanks / Like

Body Work Concerns

Hi guys, this is my first post on the forum and I look forward to hearing and learning from you guys. Let me give you a quick background on myself. I'm a Aerospace Manufacturing Engineer and a car guy through and through. When i was 18 I bought a C3 Corvette that i literally dragged out of the woods, spent 2.5 years wrenching on it and sold it to by a C5. I've since rebuilt the entire drive line and suspension on the C5 (bare engine block, bare transmission case, both subframes out and stripped etc.) I was fortunate enough to all the machine work, including making custom parts, myself. With the C5 finally running and driving like i want it to I'm sizing up my next project and the GTM has always been on my radar as the ultimate DIY car guy project.

My only real concern is the body work aspect. I think i still have nightmares of sanding my C3 that needed full body and paint. Granted that car was in the woods for god knows how long. (the gel coat was gone fiberglass was bare and delaminating etc. What i'm hoping to get from you guys is an idea of just how much body work the car needs out of the box, I understand that it'll increase with the modifications that i decide to make, but also an idea of what products and process steps you guys have taken to get the amazing results i've seen on some of the build threads on this forum. Any info, processes and product suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks, Charlie

Post Thanks / Like
    What's your goal for the car? How 'perfect' do you want the bodywork to be? Do you care if it ends up looking like a 'kit car' or do you want a production car finish on the panels? We're talking $2k vs $15-20k and quite a difference in hours.
    MK3.1 2004 Mach 1 donor. ABS, PS, TC.
    GTM #304 LPE 525hp LS3
    2000 C5 Lingenfelter LS1@489hp
    1999 Corvette FRC/Z06 track car

Post Thanks / Like