Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Signal Lights stopped working after 5 yrs?

Post Thanks / Like

Signal Lights stopped working after 5 yrs?

I've been driving the car each summer for 5 yrs. Last fall the signals stopped working.
    Now I am getting it on the road again and need to figure it out.
    If I am reading it right, the wiring diagram for 2002 Donor below shows:
    FB1-FB4 powers the LgB wire to the LH turn signal switch.
    FB2 to FB5 powers the BG wire to the RH turn signal switch.

When you have ignition on, and you move the turn signal lever, it goes through the Turn signal/Hazard Module which grounds the circuit turning the light on?
    I am showing no power on either wire for LgB or BG wires.
    I checked fuses FB1 - FB5 and they are all OK.
    Is there a relay or something powering the FB that could have failed?

Also, I checked the Hazard lights operation..... they work as they should.... flashing all 4 corners.

Stuck and wondering what it could be.......hope one of you guys can help.

Thanks.
    signal wiring.jpg
    Harley
    Bought 2002 Donor Jan 2014
    First Start Jan 18, 2015
    First Drive Feb 14, 2015

Post Thanks / Like
    That wiring diagram is really confusing, Harley, but here’s how I think it works.
    Turn signal power normally comes from the ignition relay on the GW wire to the Hazard Switch.
    When the Hazard Switch is OFF, GW is connected to BrR and goes to the Turn Signal & Hazard Module. That’s the blinker module.
    That module applies blinking power to the BY wire which goes to the Turn Signal Switch.
    The Turn Signal Switch applies blinking power to BG for left and LgB for right turns.
    BG sends blinking power to Circled B to the next sheet and on to the left rear turn signal bulb. BG also connects to the fuse box FB-2 which connects to FB-5 which, on the next sheet, connects to the left front turn signal bulb. It also powers the turn indicator on the dash.