FormaCars

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  9
Likes Likes:  7
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jeff_J MK4 Build update

Post Thanks / Like

Jeff_J MK4 Build update

Talk about going outside the box.. I'm a first time builder. I've been reading and researching on a few different sites over the last two years - became a member of the FF community and began asking a few questions to fill in some of the information in the early stages of planning a build. I guess being a first timer I had some pretty rudimentary questions so thanks to the builders who took the time to answer it helped a lot, still changed my mind several times but at least had enough information to make a more informed choice. (still changing my mind on some things, that probably won't change even after the build is done). Deposit was done December /21, but I think the most "what have I done" feeling was when the email arrived that the kit was ready to ship... Since delivery and the last month of sorting stuff out and the odd couple of hours in the garage attaching and drilling, I have to say I'm having a blast.. Once I understood how some of he assemblies are listed in the packing list, which in some instances have no rational, then it starts to get easier - probably because you kinda memorise where things are listed by flipping the same pages so many times.

#152255 delivered July 15th with a lot of boxes but still a lot of things on the POL list which will come sooner than later I hope.
    Here's the guts of the build, some of this is decided some is still open to further consideration when the time comes.

Powder coated chassis.
    Fuel injected BPE 347
    3:55 gears
    TKX 5 spd transmission w hydraulic throw bearing.
    IRS suspension
    Heater /Defroster
    Wiper / Washer
    17" Hallibrands
    2 Chrome Roll bars (keep the wife safe)
    Competition set up dashboard - still in the mapping stage.
    Engine compartment battery box (Breeze)