BluePrint Engines

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3

Thread: 289 pipes. LOUD! What can be done?

Post Thanks / Like

289 pipes. LOUD! What can be done?

Gentlemen.

First start yesterday. 347, AFR heads, comp thumpr cam. Likely your run-of-the-mill 400+- hp 347 that many run.

I know I'm getting a bit older but loud can be too loud. The thumpr probably doesn't help but I've crossed that bridge.

Have any of your tried to modify your 289 pipes with inserts? Mine are welded less than perfectly, a joke really as all joints offer a continuation of the pipe at a different angle. I have no fear of cutting the pipes and welding them back together better than they were originally manufactured AND I'm a terrible rookie welder.

I'm considering cutting them, putting in some inserts or a combination of inserts, and closing them up.

Any idea what is in the pipe now?
    10 years after my roadster build....
    289 FIA (pickup 28/08/20 if covid permits)
    currently building a 289 and accumulating parts needed to finish a Canadian Kit.

Post Thanks / Like
    I was just like you with my 331 with high compression heads. I used Car Chemistry 2 disk inserts in the end of the side pipes. They sell them at Summitt. The are pressed in (or hit in with a rubber mallet) and then held in with a single stainless steel rivet. I did not weld the optional end cap on. It helped a lot. At normal driving, the drone is gone and I can now have conversations in the car without yelling. I had bought steel wool packing to put between the inserts disk but wanted to hear it first without it. I wish I had placed the steel wool in now as now it will not be as easy to do it. I am very happy with the results. IMG_0398.jpg
    Last edited by brewha; 06-24-2023 at 08:47 AM.
    Mark4 - 331 Stroker - Fitech 600 -TKO600 - Moser 3.55

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by brewha View Post