Midwest Classic Insurance

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How hard is the Cobra to build? Honest Answer!

Post Thanks / Like

How hard is the Cobra to build? Honest Answer!

I am sure for those of you who have spent time on here you have heard this a hundred times. But how hard is it to build the kit cars? I have a lot of mechanic experience, and worked as a mechanic in an auto shop all through High School and college but that was 8-10 years ago. However, I am sure my skills are still there or at least I hope so. Anyways, how much sheet metal cutting is there, or welding, and or wiring. When it comes to wrenching I can get after it. But when you are talking about wiring or sheet metal cutting I am like Martha Stewart standing it a batters box facing Nolan Ryan. Is this something that I could do with ease, would like to make it a father son project. I am sure there is a ton of experience out there that can answer these questions. I just don't want to spend 20K for a bunch of boxes to sit in my garage for the next 50 years. Thanks for the help!

BV

Post Thanks / Like
    No welding or sheet metal cutting required. Wiring isnt that bad as you can buy a harness that is close to just plug it in.

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for answering that dosent sound that bad. Do all the engine mounts line up for a 351W or 347 stroker? Also does the kit come with all the wiring or is that something that you have to buy along with the rear end, motor, and trans. Speaking of trans any that you recommend?

Super Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like
    I built mine with just some basic mechanical skills. I had done oil changes, simple tune-ups and replacement of brake pads before buying our car. When I needed help, I posted my questions and got almost instant answers. Held a couple of "build-parties" (which are a lot of fun) and learned a bunch from those.