BluePrint Engines

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GenIII HEMI build thread - wife calls it Mistress

Post Thanks / Like

GenIII HEMI build thread - wife calls it Mistress

As promised last week, here is the start of my build thread. I’ve been saving money and squirreling away parts for about 2 years to make my dream of building a FF5 33 Hot Rod a reality. I’ve also done countless hours of research into different components and aftermarket parts to add to my build. Due to the time I’ve already spent working overtime and researching, the wife has dubbed the car “Mistress” which seems to be sticking. I have almost 20 years of experience customizing cars and I’m one of the owners of Show & Performance in San Diego, CA. For the past 5 years, I’ve been working a lot with the Gen III HEMIs, specifically the 6.1L SRT motors. So that’s what I’m using.

Here is the plan:
    Kit: I ordered the kit with hard top, power windows, full fenders, A/C, and power assist steering.

Engine is a heads/cam 6.1L HEMI with modified factory PCM for engine management. Custom tuned by Diablosport.

Transmission is a 1994 Dodge 518 overhauled and upgraded to handle 600 ft-lbs of torque.

Rear end is 2002 Ford 8.8” out of a Mustang, stripped and upgraded with an Eaton True-trac and Strange 31 spline axles with c-clip eliminators.

Front and rear big brake kits from CNC with a 90 degree power booster in the dash and 95 Mustang ABS

Chassis wiring will be done with the ISIS system with door poppers and RF remote

Fuel system has a Boyd’s tank and 255lph pump from Tanks,Inc

Wheels will be by Forgiato (leaning towards the Aggio-ECL or Diecl-ECL)and tires will come from Toyo, likely R888’s.
    http://www.forgiato.com/index.php/wheel-type/5-spoke/
    PROXES R888 | High Performance Competition Tires | Toyo Tires