Midwest Classic Insurance

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Frame hp/torque tolerances

Post Thanks / Like

Frame hp/torque tolerances

Hello I think I am swaying to the coupe build...but some hard numbers would be helpful.

FFR challenge car frame strength/tolerances etc = ?

FFR Type 65 Coupe frame strength/tolerances etc = ? And what modifications to the frame would make it SCCA/NASA/and NHRA approved?

Basically how much torque/horsepower can they handle as you ship them? And would you be willing to share any information on what would make them stronger (seeing as how you designed the chassis and should have some feedback on the CAD, especially if you used MATlab or another program that will allow you to analyze stress members and shear strength). And yes I have a degree in mechanical engineering and a second in computer science, so this would be great information to have and know in order to plan my build properly. If I build a coupe it will have either a turbo 427 LSX or the new Procharger i series with driver controlled boost mapping. So at a minimum I would need to be able to support 700 hp (maybe 1500 hp max at the flywheel). Boost control is important as I will use the car for drag racing, autocross, and road courses (mainly Mid-Ohio). So the chassis needs to be able to cope with varying stress points. I had a F1D Procharged Corvette that put down 650 rwhp at 12 psi and over 1,000 when raised to 20+...but I was constantly replacing parts and reinforcing the chassis. I sold it to build a car where I could control these variables from the bare chassis and build it to required specs. Any hard numbers, diagrams, etc would be much appreciated to assist me in building my perfect car.

Superstition Mtn foothills 5 miles west of Gold Canyon AZ
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries