Very Cool Parts

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: windshield

Post Thanks / Like

windshield

Well I managed to put a crack in my windshield , I under stand the ffr glass is not very good, is there a supplier for glass that would be stronger and would fit in the ffr frame?

Thanks
    Walt

Post Thanks / Like
    Here's what a lot of folks swear by. I have no knowledge of the product. http://www.fastfreddiesfabrications....p?id_product=1

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Walt View Post
    Well I managed to put a crack in my windshield , I under stand the ffr glass is not very good, is there a supplier for glass that would be stronger and would fit in the ffr frame? Thanks Walt
    Welcome to the club. Unfortunately it's not a very exclusive one. You can call FFR. Depending on the age and conditions of how it broke, they may do something. Bethania Garage used to sell a "U.S. made" windshield. I have one on my Mk3. It's from Guardian Industries, and seems to be a nice quality piece. But unfortunately they're not available any more. They also only sell a Chinese knock-off same as FFR. I talked to Bethania a year or so ago and they said the volumes don't warrant any of the major domestic producers (e.g. Guardian) to provide these any more.

Some guys have reported taking the windshields apart and having the edges ground and polished. Apparently they're pretty rough. But don't know if this is causing them to break more easily. At the very least, shows the workmanship is perhaps suspect.

The replacement piece from Fast Freddie's is Lexan. By all accounts is a good option, and one I would personally consider should the time come. But be warned it's not DOT approved. So if your local codes or safety inspection requires DOT glass, this could be an issue.

For the record, not exclusively an FFR issue. Seems to be a problem with all the replicas. Many brands report recurring windshield issues.