Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wings and mounting

Post Thanks / Like

Wings and mounting

Hi all

Finally looking to pull the trigger on a wing and splitter for my R (thank you, tax return!). I am torn between the straight GT-250 (less drag), and the FFR provided GTC-300. Same price point, looks like mounting is similar too.

Which sparks my next question: I saw Brandon and Chad's mounting solutions. Any other ones around? I'm a okay welder, I suppose I could try to find a nearby shop that could fabricate something. Are there any accepted "yays" or "nays" for wing mount?

Post Thanks / Like
    I like the flat wing a lot better and it seems more suitable for the 818 body. The GTC300 is more suitable for coupe cars that need that twisted outer section to make them effective due to the airflow around the rear glass/hatch area IMO.

That said, I'd really like a wing with built in nuts to make it easier to change a Gurney at the track. I've seen how they do this on prototype cars and it's stupidly easy -- just different height carbon strips -- but you need a nut embedded in the wing to hold and locate them. The APR wings just use double-sided tape to stick the Gurney flap on the wing, which makes it messy to change once you have one on there.
    Last edited by Mulry; 01-22-2016 at 01:34 PM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Mulry View Post
    I like the flat wing a lot better and it seems more suitable for the 818 body. The GTC300 is more suitable for coupe cars that need that twisted outer section to make them effective due to the airflow around the rear glass/hatch area.
    Definitely. I also favor a straight wing for an 818R for the same reasons.

GoodAero has a really slick gurney slot that you can quickly slide in/out different size flaps. Big money though, and I wouldn't spend it just to get an adjustable gurney. Still, you've got to love elegant design solutions.