BluePrint Engines

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Yippee, A/C blows cold but fans must turn on

Post Thanks / Like

Yippee, A/C blows cold but fans must turn on

I'm thrilled that my air conditioning works! Since I've never worked on air conditioning before, and think it works by voodoo magic, I'm amazed that it blows cold! The only problem is that the radiator fans must turn on when the A/C is on. The guy at the A/C shop says that if there is not enough air through the condenser the system will develop too much pressure and shut down. I dieted the '06 WRX wiring and now the ECU turns the fans on when the engine is warm enough. I have to find a way to connect the A/C system somehow so the fans turn on when I switch on the A/C. The ECU is wired to a relay, then to the fans, right? Is there a way to connect my Vintage Air wiring through the relay without causing a problem when the ECU turns on the fans?
    818S/C : Chassis #25 with 06 WRX 2.5 turbo, ABS, cruise, PS, A/C, Apple CarPlay, rear camera, power windows & locks, leather & other complexities. Sold 10/19 with 5,800 miles.
    Mk3 Roadster #6228 4.6L, T45, IRS, PS, PB, ABS, Cruise, Koni's, 17" Halibrands, red w/ silver - 9K miles then sold @ Barrett-Jackson Jan 2011 (got back cash spent).

Post Thanks / Like
    yes.

you should be able to connect to the OEM AC/fan circuit. I've wired mine to a switch so I can manually turn on the fans. If you tie into Sub Fan Relay1 in the Main Fuse Box you can get one of the fans to run without changing the other ECU control of the fans.

Credit to Bob for originally publishing this information.
    818SC chassis #206 EJ207 2.0L VF37 twin scroll || Cusco type RS 1.5 LSD || Wilwood pedal box (firewall attach) || Wilwood superlite front calipers
    BUILD Phase 1: 6/6/2014 car delivered || 5/24/2015 first start || 6/7/2015 go karted || 4/20/2016 hard-top-topped || 10/25/2016 registered || 11/18/2016 inspected & complete