FormaCars

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Wiring

Post Thanks / Like

Wiring

I have the Ron Francis wiring harness, and the vintage gauges from ffr. Do I splice into the Ron Francis harness, or do I bypass the dash harness and just use the gauge harnesses? I am not good at wiring!!! It drives me insane
    Mk4 # 8834 delivered 03/20/16 2015 IRS wildwood brake upgrade, 18"x9" front 18"X11" rear halibrand wheels, 390 FE, tko600

Post Thanks / Like
    Use the RF dash harness and attach all the gauge and switch wires to it. The vintage gauges (Speedhut) come with daisy chains for the backlight and needle lighting. Those get tied to the lighting wire in the RF harness. There are a lot of details. The RF manual and especially the schematic is very helpful. The Speedhut gauges also have instructions that explain how they should be connected.

This picture can't provide details, but gives the general idea of the RF dash harness (the three large connectors on the LH side) and how it can be routed through the gauges for hookup. The ignition leg from the main harness goes to the ignition switch. The headlight leg from the main harness goes to the headlight switch.

Last edited by edwardb; 07-28-2016 at 07:42 PM.
    Build 1: Mk3 Roadster #5125. Sold 11/08/2014. Build 2: Mk4 Roadster #7750. Sold 04/10/2017. Build Thread
    Build 3: Mk4 Roadster 20th Anniversary #8674. Sold 09/07/2020. Build Thread and Video. Build 4: Gen 3 Type 65 Coupe #59. Gen 3 Coyote. Legal 03/04/2020. Build Thread and Video
    Build 5: 35 Hot Rod Truck #138. LS3 and 4L65E auto. Rcvd 01/05/2021. Legal 04/20/2023. Build Thread. Sold 11/9/2023.

Post Thanks / Like
    Here's how Jeff Kleiner saved my bacon:

Jeff Kleiner’s WIRING DIRECTIONS