Boig Motorsports

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Jimland’s MK4 Roadster Build #9237

Post Thanks / Like

Jimland’s MK4 Roadster Build #9237

I’m a retired electrical engineer living in Prairieville, LA who has always liked exotic sports cars. I used to own a DeLorean for about 15 years and sold it in 2005 and shortly after regretted it. I’ve always loved the look of the Shelby Cobra so I told myself when I retired I would build me one. So I retired several years ago and started planning. My 31 year old son Ryan and I attended the Build School back in May of this year. My wife and I attended the FFR June 2017 Open House to see all the cars and try to decide what color I wanted. While I was there picked up some sun visors, windscreens and roll bar grommets at a great price. So I finally pulled the trigger and ordered the car on 10/23/17 and it was completed on 11/25/17. I took delivery on 12/11/17 which was the day before my birthday so that was a great present!

I’ve read many of build threads and have learned a lot especially from EdwardB, Wareaglescott and Jazzman’s build threads. I decided while I was at the Open House that I really liked the color and look of EdwardB’s car so I will be shamelessly copying his build. Being that I live in Louisiana, I figured I’m far enough away from Paul that our cars shouldn’t cross paths. I hope Paul believes in the saying that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery?

When they delivered my car, they were also delivering a MK4 in Baton Rouge which is about 10 miles away from me. I got the person’s name and contacted him and we plan on getting together to compare notes. Also, SVTFreak is in the same town as me and has been a big help with the planning and has offered to help me whenever I need it.

My POL list has about 20 items with the major items being the IRS Control/Toe Arms, Front LCA’s and Driveshaft. I just completed the inventory tonight and have about 10 minor items missing.