BluePrint Engines

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Access to the fuel tank

Post Thanks / Like

Access to the fuel tank

I am new to the family and am trying to sort through some of the issues / quirks of my car while it's still winter here and I can't / won't drive the car. The car has a boyd tank with the aeromotive pump, I have only filled it once since I have had it and it was slow to fill. I would like to see how it is plumbed etc. and to see if there is anything that can be done to help the fill rate, is it best to get to it from the trunk by removing panels or thru the interior by removing the waterfall etc. ( it does have a hardtop so that would also need to be removed if getting to it from the interior.) I assume that trying to "straighten" out the elbow on the fill tube helps, is that correct or does it not matter ? Is there a consolidated list or tips of things to verify or change to aid the fill rate ?
    Thanks for any help,
    Jim

EFI Rules and Carbs Drool Arrowhead's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well the Boyd tank was supposed to be the end all be all of FFR fuel tank woes so not sure what s going on there (I've only recently bought into the hype and and retrofitted the stock tank but haven't filled it yet). But to answer your question, you are going to get to it from the interior. So yes, if you have a roll bar, the top will need to come off to take the bar out, then the seats and water fall will have to come out. That should expose the tank so you can get to the fill tubing. There should be a large capacity vent/rollover valve that you should check in addition to the fill hose routing.

Post Thanks / Like