Boig Motorsports

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Ride heigh dilema

Post Thanks / Like

Ride heigh dilema

So working on building my 818r and I’m having a few debates about suspension. It seems F5 has a few design issues with the track height suspension mounting locations.......that being said, why shouldn’t I just go with street height?

I am also debating mounting the sway bar. I don’t plan on wheel to wheel with the car, but may get into some time trial stuff in the future.

School me!

Post Thanks / Like
    I can offer no schooling, as I'm a rank amateur with this stuff. But I can offer my own plan.

I have the new nose, which apparently offers a lot more clearance for the front wheels. So hopefully that's what you have, too.

I'm doing the build somewhat in reverse - mounting the body first. Once that's done I'll test both ride height settings with whatever wheels I end up deciding on to see what works best for suspension travel and interference. From my experience with the roadster I built years ago, I would put good steering geometry and an appropriate amount of suspension travel ahead of CG height, although I feel like roll center should probably be paid some attention, if for no other reason than to understand where it is and what effect it might have on handling.

I do plan on having adjustable sway bars, front and rear - they made an enormous difference on my roadster.

Post Thanks / Like