Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Fan Run Time?

Post Thanks / Like

Fan Run Time?

I have a 180 degree thermostat in my 306. I am using the FFR supplied fan switch and RF wiring harness and it is mounted in the intake manifold. It's my understanding that this switch turns on at 185 degrees and turns off at 165 degrees. My car doesn't seem to have any cooling issues as the temp is always between 80 to 90 degrees C indicated on the temp gauge. My concern is that once the fan does come on, and I happen to shut the car off, the fan runs for what seems like forever in the garage. Basically until my engine cools to 165 degrees. Is this what everyone else is experiencing? Just seems odd to park the car and come back and the fan still running. Should I consider a switch that turns on and off at a little higher temp?
    Last edited by JETAV8R; 12-20-2018 at 11:14 AM.
    MKIV Roadster #9414, Complete Kit Delivered 9/8/2018, First Start 11/9/2018, First Go Cart 11/10/2018, Ford 306 Hand Built, E303 Cam, Blueprint Engine Heads, Edelbrock Performer Manifold, Edelbrock AVS2 Carb, Roller Rockers, Tremec T5, 3.55 Moser 3 Link, 17" Halibrand Replicas, Nitto 555 G2's, Power Steering, Power Brakes, Heated Seats, Russ Thompson Turn Signal

Post Thanks / Like
    Sounds like your fan is running off the battery. With no water circulating (engine off) the fan is only cooling radiator temps and not engine temps (I'm guessing your temp sensor is in the intake manifold). That's why it's running so long. I would use a key-on-hot power source. That way the fan shuts down with the key.
    ---Boyd---
    MkIV #9042 build thread
    www.boss427.us
    427W, TKO600, Moser 3.55 rear.
    Delivered Feb 2017, Graduated Nov 4, 2019

"The High Country", beautiful Flagstaff, AZ
    Post Thanks / Like