Very Cool Parts

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: POR15 vs RUSTOLEUM

Post Thanks / Like

Question POR15 vs RUSTOLEUM

Is POR15 @ $28/PINT WORTH IT?
    Can Rustoleum Bare Metal Primer plus Gloss Black work as well on bare steel like the hood and trunk supports? And...is Rustoleum OK for the bare aluminum?

BTW my IRS center section came from Ford painted. Is that paint any good? Or do I have to remove it and paint with POR15?

Just curious...

Post Thanks / Like
    IMO, POR15 is definitely worth the price of admission. I work in the coatings industry and it is industrial strength. Like anything, just have to make sure you prep the surface correctly. Rustoleum primer and topcoat work, but I think are a little more finicky to prep work, meaning that I don't think its as flexible to work with as the POR15.

If the IRS section is already painted, I'd probably leave it, but in my experience, these coatings were more for initial rust prevention versus long term hold out. Your choice of course. If you want to paint it, you really just need to make sure the paint is well adhered to the surface, de-glossed then I believe you can use the POR15 right over that.

Only down side to the original POR15 is that it is UV intolerant. I think if it gets too much exposure to light it will damage the coating. There are other versions of POR15 that don't do this.
    Last edited by cv2065; 12-26-2018 at 09:35 PM.
    MKIV Roadster - #9380 - Complete Kit - Delivered 7/17/18 - SOLD 5/2023
    Build Thread #1: https://thefactoryfiveforum.com/show...V-Build-Thread
    MKIV Roadster - #TBD - Complete Kit - Delivered 11/6/23 - In Progress
    Build Thread #2: https://thefactoryfiveforum.com/show...Build-Thread-2

Post Thanks / Like
    Pot-15 is light years better! Maybe better than powder coating, only drawback to me is the extended drying time.
    MK IV complete Kit - 1st time builder started Sept 2016
    Levy 306
    T5
    2015 Mustang IRS