Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Unexpected costs

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Thanks / Like

Unexpected costs

I'm a younger aspiring car builder with strong mechanical diagnostic skills repairing Mercedes and Tesla vehicles (Tesla Roadster might as well be a kit car). I'm looking into either purchasing a 911 (or Similar) car that I'd be financing out 60-72 months or building a GTM/818 over the same time frame. In trying to make my decision i've been living on this forum looking through build after build and checking out some of the amazing work you all have done. I understand the kit will run about $30k and a donor vette in good running shape is about $15-20k in my area. When you set out to do your build, what expenses came up that seemed to sky-rocket unexpectedly for you? Im planning on doing the entire build myself including interior, paint, wiring, and mechanical - hoping that I dont mess it up too bad =o) The second part of this question is, if you were to do it again, how much $$ would you set aside to make up for any mistakes or "wish i would'ves" that you didn't do in your build?

Post Thanks / Like
    I wouldn't say I have had any unexpected costs that are skyrocketing, but there were some things that I was not fully prepared for. Such as AN fittings, extra hardware, and the never ending wanting to make it unique. I did spend an extensive amount of time putting together a costed out Bill of Materials and lined it up with my budget. I was pretty detailed as I knew the GTM I wanted to build would be close to the $100K mark. So far I have done pretty good over the last year and a half. I have added things, taken away things, and am still generally right on my budget.

3. Thanks Username thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like