BluePrint Engines

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: SN 95 Spindle width and interchangeability ?'s

Post Thanks / Like

SN 95 Spindle width and interchangeability ?'s

So I have been driving my donor build around in gelcoat for a few months with the stock mustang wheel and tires. Donor was a 1999 mustang.

I just received my FFR Halibrand 17" wheels with the staggered width 9" front 10.5" rear. I have already done the research and bit the bullit and bout a 98 model rear Axel and the fox width shafts to swap into the rear, but now not the front.

I bolted the front rims on and they stick out about .5" past the front fender.

I was happy with the way the stock 8" front wheel tucked inside the front fenders but these 9" look goofy to me. How much narrower would it be to put on the 94-95 spindles? Can I simply buy a set of used spindles on eBay and bolt them on with my hubs and brakes? I have heard that I will have to clearance the lower control arms or upgrade to the tubular FFR units.

Does anyone make a 8" x 17" halibrand so that I don't have to swap spindles and can keep the width and backspace of the factory mustang wheels, because I was happy with the stance?

Thanks for any help, I'm sure plenty of others have been through this before, but my searches seems to steer (no pun intended) towards conversations about correcting bump steer rather than width.

Post Thanks / Like
    Been there done that. I started with a set of 1996 SN95 spindles and thought they were fine until I fit the body the first time. Tires stuck out way too far.

What I really wanted was a 1994-1995 SN95 spindle set. These are 8mm narrower per side and help bring the wheels and tires in. Unfortunately you can't buy them new. I searched eBay and got a pair cheap and ordered new hubs, then painted the spindles. All good.
    Non-donor - Engine Factory 351w/400hp - TKO500 - 3-Link - Cobra brakes - FFmetal - Wilwood pedals - FR500 wheels - NCPainter