Midwest Classic Insurance

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Research Mode

Post Thanks / Like

Research Mode

Hi guys, I'm glad to be a part of this journey with all of you. Thank you in advance for all the help you will all provide! I have no clue what I'm doing, I've only done a couple of car repairs thanks to you tube. My boys (both under 6) are really into fast cars. They love building stuff so I started learning to build stuff for and with them. I found factory five just browsing thru the net looking for a project. I fell in love with the 35 truck and my boys each chose which one they want for themselves. Of course its going to be a while before we build theirs but I cant wait to get started on mine! My very first question is...what are the specs I need on this truck to eat corvettes for breakfast? It's not going to be a daily driver but I'm also not going to use it for drag racing. Just a weekend cruiser here but I still want the power. More than likely I'll go with a complete blue print engine and transmission since I know nothing about any of this and I feel like building the truck is enough work for now. I seen the Chevy 400 has 508hp and it seems like plenty for this light vehicle. Spill some knowledge if yall can please!

Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome! Building a FF is a lot of fun but not necessarily for everyone. You didnt mention anything about budget so we're all going to assume that cost is no objective - something to think about though. As for power, there is POWER and then there is usable power. You're not going to eat Corvette's for breakfast just sitting there spinning yer wheels. Something in the 350 to 450 hp range might be easier to control. As you already noted, these puppies are light so it doesn't take much but you have to have traction.

Enjoy the planning, it's part of the journey.
    Steve
    Gen 1 '33 Hot Rod #1104