Very Cool Parts

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Spark plug help

Post Thanks / Like

Spark plug help

My #1 spark plug (on the left) is very different than the other 7 (like on the right). Is this a classic symptom of something?
    '91 302, Mustang EFI, new 24 lb injectors, AFR heads, 70mm throttle body, Trick flow intake. Pro-M MAF, NOID light test seems OK, header temp similar to the other cylinders.
    I'm not experienced with reading plugs.

Any ideas greatly appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Post Thanks / Like
    You say AFR heads? Those don't look like the correct plugs for AFR. I have 185 AFR, and my plugs have a gasket on them, those look like a taper fit? The all white plug looks lean?

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by rich grsc View Post
    You say AFR heads? Those don't look like the correct plugs for AFR. I have 185 AFR, and my plugs have a gasket on them, those look like a taper fit? The all white plug looks lean?
    I think you are right- I have the wrong plugs according to AFR's instructions. Will get the right ones tomorrow. Autolite 3924. What should the gap be? I'm reading recommendation of .054 but that looks excessive.

"The High Country", beautiful Flagstaff, AZ
    Post Thanks / Like
    If the plug on the right is representative of the others and has been in for any length of time I'd tend to be happy with that absent any other symptoms. It looks within a normal range of what you might expect. A picture is much harder to read than the real thing but the base circle will tell the story on mixture and the one on the left appears dry sooty with some carbon build up that looks a bit like grit on the base circle indicating a rich mixture. If this carbon build up was wet or shiny looking that would indicate oil fouling but from the photo it appears dry.

So ask yourself what would cause the number one cylinder to run rich.