Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  4
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: POR-15 Surface Prep Question

Post Thanks / Like

POR-15 Surface Prep Question

Hi All. I have a quick (and likely stupid) question...

I've never used POR15 before, but ordered the kit from amazon which arrives today. I see that it includes some kind of metal prep / etching primer as part of the kit. I plan on using this to paint the cast section of the IRS differential tonight. My question is that the differential (bought from FFR) came painted from the factory. I assume I need to strip that paint off to get the POR products to adhere properly. Is that correct?

Also, is there a recommended brand of clear topcoat? I see POR makes one, but I did not purchase that.

Thanks,
    Jason
    MK4 Complete Kit #9673 | Ordered: 08/07/2019 | Pickup: 08/24/2019
    Gen 2 Coyote, TKO600, IRS, Power Steering, 18" Halibrands, Kirkey Vintage Race Seats, Gas-N Headers and Pipes
    Build Thread: https://thefactoryfiveforum.com/show...IRS-Build-9673

Post Thanks / Like
    I'm not going to be able to help too much, but I thought I'd chime in.

First, please don't apologize for asking questions. We've all learned as we went along. Questions are good.