Out of Sight Audio

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ready to install Moroso coyote oil pan...do I need the sensor???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    81
    Post Thanks / Like

    Ready to install Moroso coyote oil pan...do I need the sensor???

    FF instructions show installing oil level or oil temp sensor to the moroso pan. I can't find it in any boxes (FF, Ford, Forte, etc). Forte provided a plug that fits the hole. Do I need the sensor? Thanks!
    MK IV Roadster-Delivered Nov '18
    Complete Kit, Gen2 Coyote, TKO 600, 2015 IRS, FFR brakes, FFR power steering, Full length headers

  2. #2
    Senior Member edwardb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lake Orion, Michigan
    Posts
    6,343
    Post Thanks / Like
    Oil level, no. That hasn't been used on an OE Coyote for a couple model years, and apparently wasn't active in the crate motor program anyway. Oil temp, your choice. If you have the gauge and want to monitor, then that's the place for the sensor. Otherwise, use the plug.
    Build 1: Mk3 Roadster #5125. Sold 11/08/2014.
    Build 2: Mk4 Roadster #7750. Sold 04/10/2017. #7750 Build Thread
    Build 3: Mk4 Roadster 20th Anniversary #8674. 03 of 20. 2015 crate Coyote, 2015 IRS. Legal 04/18/2017. #8674 Build Thread and Video
    Build 4: Gen 3 Type 65 Coupe #59. Gen 3 crate Coyote. Delivered 12/2/2017. #59 Coupe Build Thread

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    81
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Paul!
    MK IV Roadster-Delivered Nov '18
    Complete Kit, Gen2 Coyote, TKO 600, 2015 IRS, FFR brakes, FFR power steering, Full length headers

  4. #4
    David aka Ducky2009 Ducky2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Lilburn, GA
    Posts
    488
    Post Thanks / Like
    Oil temp... My kit was delivered Jan 2017. The wiring harness didn't have a wire for the temp sensor. Check your harness. If you really want it, you may have to add the wiring connections.
    MK4 Build #9035 Delivered 2/17/17, First Start & Go-Kart 6/2/17, Licensed 9/1/17
    Paint - Lightning Blue Metallic, No Hood Scoop, No Stripes
    Coyote Engine & TKO-600. Solid Axle, 8.8-3.55, Power Steering, Power Brakes, Dual Roll Bars
    Heater and Glove Box, Drop Trunk, Wipers, Radio, FFR Vintage Gauges
    Build Thread: http://thefactoryfiveforum.com/showt...MK4-Build-9035

  5. #5
    Senior Member edwardb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lake Orion, Michigan
    Posts
    6,343
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Ducky2009 View Post
    Oil temp... My kit was delivered Jan 2017. The wiring harness didn't have a wire for the temp sensor. Check your harness. If you really want it, you may have to add the wiring connections.
    Latest versions of the RF harness have the oil temp wire. Gen 3 Coupe kit delivered in Dec 2017 had it. You're right, wasn't in the earlier versions.
    Build 1: Mk3 Roadster #5125. Sold 11/08/2014.
    Build 2: Mk4 Roadster #7750. Sold 04/10/2017. #7750 Build Thread
    Build 3: Mk4 Roadster 20th Anniversary #8674. 03 of 20. 2015 crate Coyote, 2015 IRS. Legal 04/18/2017. #8674 Build Thread and Video
    Build 4: Gen 3 Type 65 Coupe #59. Gen 3 crate Coyote. Delivered 12/2/2017. #59 Coupe Build Thread

  6. #6
    Senior Member BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Raleigh NC USA
    Posts
    902
    Post Thanks / Like
    FWIW I run the oil temperature gauge with the 2013 RF harness & don't remember adding an extra wire for it.
    Kevin
    MKIV #8234
    Coyote '13/TKO-600/3-Link 3:55 Rear
    Delivered 2/7/14 - Plate "COYOTE NC1965" 3/25/15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Clever Turn Signal

Visit our community sponsor