FormaCars

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  11
Likes Likes:  11

Thread: Power Brakes for Mk4 w/Coyote

Post Thanks / Like

Power Brakes for Mk4 w/Coyote

Hi,

I want to add power brake assist to my build. Through the message board here I have found Whitby Motorcars vacuum system and a little about Hydro-Boost. Can I get some recommendations for these types of systems pros and cons. I know little about Hydro-Boost. From what I have read it sounds like Hydro-Boost may cost more and more complex to install but may be more compact and take up less space. The Coyote engine takes up a lot of space in the engine bay. Has anyone installed either types in an Mk4 with Coyote engine? I am upgrading to Wilwood brakes as well.

Thanks for your help. I'm very new to all of this but I'm having a blast learning and building this car.

Thank you,
    Tim

oh, btw, off topic but how do you automatically add your car info at the bottom of each post? I see some of you have this. I'd like to add to my messages as well. thanks.

Post Thanks / Like
    The hydroboost system mounts in front of the driver side toe box it would not be competing for any room with the coyote. But it runs off of power steering which on the coyote is on the passenger side, so the lines would have to be routed over there. I do not know if it will work with the coyote so I'm interested in seeing the replies to this post. I currently have it on my MK4 was also contemplating putting it on my 25th which has a coyote going in it so very curious if anyone has done this also.

3. Thanks tbl100 thanked for this post
    Likes tbl100 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    I just finished a Coyote with vacuum power brakes. They don't interfere with each other at all. Lots of room for both.
    I used a Mustang pedal box, 87-93 Mustang booster, 1994 Cobra master, 13 inch Cobra front brakes and rear IRS brakes from FFR.
    Also a remote reservoir from a Mercury Villager mini van.
    Mike