The Traveling Builder

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  8
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: GPS Gauge Issue

  1. #1
    Papa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    2,357
    Post Thanks / Like

    GPS Gauge Issue

    Just a heads up for those with GPS speedometers. If you transport your car, make sure the shipper removes the key. Unless Mr. Kliener was joy riding in my car, which I doubt since it was barely running , my car accumulated almost 500 miles in a trailer.
    There are 10 types of people in this world;
    those who understand binary and those who don't.

    My Build Thread: http://thefactoryfiveforum.com/showt...ter-Build-9754

  2. Thanks Aircontroller thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Not a waxer Jeff Kleiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    4,593
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Papa View Post
    Just a heads up for those with GPS speedometers. If you transport your car, make sure the shipper removes the key. Unless Mr. Kliener was joy riding in my car, which I doubt since it was barely running , my car accumulated almost 500 miles in a trailer.
    Well yeah, the way it was running and gulping gas most of the time it was here 500 miles would have taken a several hundred gallons of fuel!!!

    It must have accumulated the miles on the way here because I remember noting that it had 5xx miles on the odometer and was a bit surprised because I had the impression that it had not been driven much. The ignition would have to be on for the GPS to log speed/miles, right?

    Jeff

  4. Likes Aircontroller liked this post
  5. #3
    Papa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    2,357
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Kleiner View Post
    Well yeah, the way it was running and gulping gas most of the time it was here 500 miles would have taken a several hundred gallons of fuel!!!

    It must have accumulated the miles on the way here because I remember noting that it had 5xx miles on the odometer and was a bit surprised because I had the impression that it had not been driven much. The ignition would have to be on for the GPS to log speed/miles, right?

    Jeff
    I'm envisioning Farris Beuler's day off with the transporter. Maybe he should have tried driving his truck in reverse for a few hundred miles...
    There are 10 types of people in this world;
    those who understand binary and those who don't.

    My Build Thread: http://thefactoryfiveforum.com/showt...ter-Build-9754

  6. Likes Aircontroller, rezell3d, SSNK4US liked this post
  7. #4
    Not a waxer Jeff Kleiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    4,593
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Papa View Post
    I'm envisioning Farris Beuler's day off with the transporter. Maybe he should have tried driving his truck in reverse for a few hundred miles...
    Funny thing is though it was much more than 500 miles between you and me. Maybe because it was inside the trailer it was acquiring and then losing the satellite signal along the way. I bet that was "what the heck????" moment when you saw the mileage!

    Jeff

  8. #5
    Papa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    2,357
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Kleiner View Post
    Funny thing is though it was much more than 500 miles between you and me.

    Jeff
    That's what I'm thinking. There are some other strange things that could happen with GPS regarding almanac message processing, but I would have expected a glitch there to show the full mileage difference. Who knows how Speedhut's gauge software works. I suspect if someone is concerned about it, they could disconnect the antenna during transport, which should eliminate the possibility of getting even an intermittent signal.

    The good news is that the car is actually running pretty good right now and that's one less thing to have to deal with before trying to get my VIN.

    Dave
    There are 10 types of people in this world;
    those who understand binary and those who don't.

    My Build Thread: http://thefactoryfiveforum.com/showt...ter-Build-9754

  9. #6
    Not a waxer Jeff Kleiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    4,593
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Papa View Post
    The good news is that the car is actually running pretty good right now and that's one less thing to have to deal with before trying to get my VIN.

    Dave
    I'm happy to hear that and think we can be pretty certain that the lack of sidepipes was causing the O2 sensor to report a lean condition. As I said though I've had a bunch of Coyote engined cars through here with their sensors in the same location that seem to run exactly the same whether the pipes are on or off but of course the ECUs are entirely different. No matter what I'm just relieved that you aren't going to have to deal with a sick engine (probably not as relieved as you are though ).

    Jeff

  10. #7
    Senior Member rich grsc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    O'Fallon, MO
    Posts
    1,029
    Post Thanks / Like
    Now wait a minute, you told me you had to test drive all the paint before you returned the cars.

  11. #8
    Senior Member GTBradley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Centennial, CO
    Posts
    470
    Post Thanks / Like
    Look at it this way, you’re 500 miles closer to your engine break-in period...too soon?
    MK IV Coyote Roadster
    "Life ought to be a struggle of desire toward adventures whose nobility will fertilize the soul."
    Rebecca West
    Build thread: https://thefactoryfiveforum.com/show...TKO600-and-IRS

  12. #9
    Senior Member GTBradley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Centennial, CO
    Posts
    470
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sorry, but seriously, was the key on that whole time? How did that not run the battery down? I mean it’s a two day trip, right?
    MK IV Coyote Roadster
    "Life ought to be a struggle of desire toward adventures whose nobility will fertilize the soul."
    Rebecca West
    Build thread: https://thefactoryfiveforum.com/show...TKO600-and-IRS

  13. #10
    Papa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    2,357
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by GTBradley View Post
    Sorry, but seriously, was the key on that whole time? How did that not run the battery down? I mean it’s a two day trip, right?
    Well, the battery was down. After a couple of short starts, it was dead.
    There are 10 types of people in this world;
    those who understand binary and those who don't.

    My Build Thread: http://thefactoryfiveforum.com/showt...ter-Build-9754

  14. #11

    Steve >> aka: GoDadGo
    GoDadGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,702
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

  15. Likes Papa, Aircontroller liked this post
  16. #12
    BadAsp427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Posts
    742
    Post Thanks / Like
    Papa, I'm guessing that you hooked up the always hot wire for "faster startup" on the GPS. If you did, I'm guessing that that means that it is always tracking where it is at and thus added the miles. And as Jeff said, in the trailer, it was most likely not getting full signal all the way. Having the battery disconnected or the main power turned of I would guess would have prevented the extra miles showing up.

    Mk4 20th Anniversary #8690 ( #8 of 20 ) Purchased 8/18/18----Build Started 8/19/18
    Build Thread Click Here
    First Start 11-1-18
    ----First GoCart 11-7-18
    BluePrint Engines 347ci / TKO600
    Carb / Heater / Heated Seats / Cruise Control / Drop Trunk & Battery

    Gel Coat Driver 1/12/19 - 1000 Miles 3-23-19 / 2200 Miles 4-30-19 / 7500 Miles 8/16/19 / 9000 Miles 9/15/19.

  17. Likes Aircontroller liked this post
  18. #13
    Senior Member edwardb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lake Orion, Michigan
    Posts
    6,440
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by BadAsp427 View Post
    Papa, I'm guessing that you hooked up the always hot wire for "faster startup" on the GPS. If you did, I'm guessing that that means that it is always tracking where it is at and thus added the miles...
    No, that's not the case. I've used the Speedhut GPS speedos on two builds, and use the hot wire on the GPS. Through the HAAT circuits in the Coyote harness, which aren't switched off by the master disconnect. Trailered both cars to Wareham, and also an even longer trailer trip to Texas last Spring. All with the battery connected. No unintended odometer miles were registered. According to the instructions, the only purpose of the hot wire is to "remember" the last position so that it has to search less and start-up is quicker. Which I've found to be the case. Usually it's ready to go right after backing out of the garage. Based on my understanding, the GPS isn't actually running or tracking the location during that mode. The current draw is extremely low. Speedhut lists it as 25 micro-amps.

    The only way this could have happened, in my experience, is if the gauge was receiving full power. It is interesting, nonetheless, and something I'd never thought of. The GPS speedo doesn't know the wheels aren't turning. Only that it's moving. So if left on, the miles would register whether being driven or not.
    Last edited by edwardb; 11-11-2019 at 07:38 AM.
    Build 1: Mk3 Roadster #5125. Sold 11/08/2014.
    Build 2: Mk4 Roadster #7750. Sold 04/10/2017. #7750 Build Thread
    Build 3: Mk4 Roadster 20th Anniversary #8674. 03 of 20. 2015 crate Coyote, 2015 IRS. Legal 04/18/2017. #8674 Build Thread and Video
    Build 4: Gen 3 Type 65 Coupe #59. Gen 3 crate Coyote. Delivered 12/2/2017. #59 Coupe Build Thread

  19. Likes Aircontroller liked this post
  20. #14
    Senior Member rich grsc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    O'Fallon, MO
    Posts
    1,029
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yep, thats correct, the GPS isn't active when hooked up using 'always on' just remembering last location.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Replica Promotions

Visit our community sponsor