FormaCars

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  10

Thread: Newbie - MK4 on order, delivery on Thursday 11/14!

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie - MK4 on order, delivery on Thursday 11/14!

After several years of discussion, I attended the build school in September and placed my order. MK4 complete kit with Blue Print 347 EFI, IRS, plus other options. Engine is here. Body and kit arrives on Thursday. Garage space, jack stands, body buck and tools are all ready to go.

I am excited but apprehensive, as this is my first build. I will have hundreds of questions, but have a rather basic "start" question, after I do inventory, and remove the body and start the process.

I plan to powder coat the engine bay panels and any panels that can easily be seen. I just don't care for the bare aluminum look. The underside panels I plan to coat with DB Skin to be a bit more protective than PC. Bed Liner coat the wheel wells. Dynamat and heat shield on interior footwells and firewall.

So my question is do I drill most of the panels using cleco's right away (at least the ones pre-installed), disassemble and then PC the engine bay panels, then start the build. Basically get all the aluminum out of the way in the beginning.

Or is it better to go by the book and drill/PC/coat along the way. I am sure it will cost more to PC in batches.

Pretty basic question, but want to make sure the sequence is correct.

I am sure I will be back with more. Thanks in advance.

Also do I got to the roadster forum for future questions?

Vince

Post Thanks / Like
    I would drill everything you can, and then powder coat it all at once.

My panels with the 25th came pre powder coated, which was nice, but when you're drilling them it's easy to scratch it with the drill bit if you slip.
    25th Anniversary Roadster #12 of 25
    Gen 3 Coyote
    TKO 600 mid-shift

Car

Post Thanks / Like
    And trust me, ask all the basic questions you have.