Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  2

Thread: Tire Experiences - Best 17" for street

Post Thanks / Like

Tire Experiences - Best 17" for street

I've been searching around and now I'm posting and hoping those with many miles of experience can reply.

I'm new to Cobras and my MKIV has 17" wheels with old tires (but 1,200 miles). For safety's sake, I'll replace them. But with a 2,200lb car and ~450hp, what tire is best for street use? I'm looking for less wheelspin in spirited driving, while also being able to turn and stop. Again, performance (in dry) and safety to me go hand in hand. I've been driving the car in cold weather and of course there's NO traction. I do not care about treadwear life or tire cost. This is a very limited, nice weather car only. I want a tire that will help me keep the car ON THE ROAD!

On my old GTO with 600ft/lbs, I used Nitto drag radials in the rear. I had to because everything else just spun. It wasn't bad handling overall, but a `65 GTO is no Cobra in terms of handling anyway. That car weighed 3,400lbs.

So:

M/T? Which ones?
    Drag radials on the back?
    Michelin PS?
    etc.

My current sizes are: 245/45R17, and 315/35R17.
    Adam

Post Thanks / Like
    How about telling us what tires you're running, how old they are (the date codes) and what tire pressure you're running first.

Post Thanks / Like
    I'm running Nitto 555 G2s. 315/35/17 on the backs and 255/40/17 on the front. Sure I can spin them pretty much at will but have been impressed with how well they bite. Going around corners seems like you are on rails. Car is used for cruising and street so don't have any experience with them in a racing situation.
    2nd MK4 #10639 received 3-19-23. Wife's version. Street Snake - IRS, Willwoods, no roll bars, no hood scoop, no stripes, Blue Print EFI 306 with AOD trans, and under car exhaust. Ford Eruption Green with saddle leather interior.