Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  224
Likes Likes:  364
Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: 460.465USMC's MK4 Build #9890 - V.I.N. for the Win and Spring Rumble

Post Thanks / Like

460.465USMC's MK4 Build #9890 - V.I.N. for the Win and Spring Rumble

Link to Build Thread Index

Happy Independence Day! One of my favorite holidays! I'm thankful for the freedoms we have, and especially for all those service members and families who have sacrificed.

This last week was also big for me for another reason: I ordered a complete MK4 kit July 1. It is supposed to be ready for pickup Sept. 12. I live in Spokane, WA, so will have it shipped here. I am so excited to take on this project!

Like many other first time builders on this forum I'm also a novice. This will be by far the largest car project I've ever undertaken. To be honest, it's a little intimidating given my meager mechanical skill. But, I have great hope for success after reading through several other first timers such as Shark92651, Papa, Straversi, VAHokie, JohnK, JB in NOVA, Jazzman, Wareaglescott, Yama-Bro, RRAC20, etc. I've done a good amount of my own vehicle maintenance over the years, and various home projects. I also have a technical background in electronics/RF. Hopefully, this will be a strong enough foundation for me to be successful.

It's been very enjoyable to read others' build threads. I am learning so much from the builders mentioned above, not to mention Sir Edwardb, and comments and tips from others like Jeff Kleiner and many others. Thank you! I'm reading through the FF build manual for the second time. I also just found out I have a neighbor (SteveP) just 15 minutes from my house who's really close to sending his MK4 off for body work/paint. So, a great resource "in the neighborhood". The number of helpful, friendly people I've encountered through this forum is really something. What a great group of people!

What I ordered from FF:
    • Complete MK4 kit