Boig Motorsports

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Powder Coat Touch Up

Post Thanks / Like

Powder Coat Touch Up

I failed at several attempts to use the search function on this forum site, so HUGE apologies if this has been discussed before, but is there a touch up color that matches or a close match for the black powder coat FFR use on their 33 HR frame that I can buy?

I have a few scratches in the frame in the engine bay where parts rubbed during shipment that I'd like to get touched up before I drop the engine in.

Thanks, and again, sorry if this was asked before

Jim

Post Thanks / Like
    Is it gloss black or the new satin black? The Rust-oleum gloss black number 7779 works great for the gloss black powder coat.

Sorry, I have no experience with the new satin color.

Steve
    2nd MK4 #10639 received 3-19-23. Wife's version. Street Snake - IRS, Willwoods, no roll bars, no hood scoop, no stripes, Blue Print EFI 306 with AOD trans, and under car exhaust. Ford Eruption Green with saddle leather interior.
    1st build - Mk4 Roadster #9319, received 4-10-18. IL registration 8/6/19. Moser 8.8. 3 Link. Wilwood brakes. Blue Print 427, Holley 750, TKO 600, 0.64 OD. Paint Dec 2020. Ruby Red with Carbon Flash Black metallic stripes.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by ILPBFoot View Post
    Is it gloss black or the new satin black? The Rust-oleum gloss black number 7779 works great for the gloss black powder coat.

Sorry, I have no experience with the new satin color.

Steve
    Sorry, I should have specified that...mine Gen 2 frame has the satin black powder coat. I tried Satin Black Rustoleum 2X and it was too shiny.

Post Thanks / Like
    Eastwood 2K hot rod satin black is a great match.

I believe Spray max brand is the same but isn't the one I used.

Steve
    Gen 1 '33 Hot Rod #1104
    347 with Holley Sniper & Hyperspark, TKO600, IRS, 245/40R18 & 315/30R18, DRL, Digital Guard Dog keyless Ignition