Midwest Classic Insurance

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Church's 818c Build

Post Thanks / Like

Church's 818c Build

It has finally started, the donor teardown has begun, and I'm getting ready to order my kit. I am starting with an '07 WRX, unfortunately from Florida, so I'm already finding a good amount of rust. I'm currently working on dropping the front assembly to begin tearing down the engine. I am a complete amateur, so lot's of learning by doing, YouTubing, and screwing up but having fun so far! I'm still working through what exactly I want to do in regards to options, and I'll probably need to replace the harness (totally wrecked from a bad stereo job), exhaust, and quite a few other pieces from rust, but the engine appears to be in good shape so far.

I greatly appreciate all the tips, advice, and warnings I have received so far from other builders, so please keep them coming!

20210605_084010.jpg
    20210607_164121.jpg

Post Thanks / Like
    I absolutely know the feeling... Tearing down that WRX engine was so foreign to me and I often questioned how I'd get it back together. One thing that helped me a lot is I took a picture of the engine every time before I removed anything. Then I labeled the printed picture with the part and stuck it in a labeled bag. So started out with picture 1, and parts were labeled 1-1, 1-2, etc... Found it invaluable when re-assembling the engine and having parts I didn't have a clue where they went... :-( Here's picture 1, and the final one before I split the block. (19)

Picture 1.jpgPicture 19.jpg

Happy to say that it went back together, I learned a lot in the process, and most importantly, it runs!!!
    IMG_2631.jpg

Final recommendation is get very comfortable understanding how the FSM is laid out. Took me way too long in the beginning to find things like torque values, only to realize they're all right in the beginning of each section. Now I can find things rather fast.