Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Engine Choices

Post Thanks / Like

Engine Choices

I'm new to Subaru's, so I don't really know what I should be looking for as a donor. Mine will be a daily driver, that may perhaps see the track from time to time. This means reliability and drive-ability trump all other goals. My HP goal - IF I can afford it - is ~340-350 whp. If I can't afford the parts/tuning to get there I'll probably just leave it stock (it's not like it'll be slow!). So what are the engine options? What are their relative advantages/disadvantages?

I had one person I spoke to privately recommend an EJ205 with an 18G-XT turbo. He also said the 2L is durable, so I assume an EJ205 is a 2L engine? Anyone have any thoughts on this recommendation or what kind of HP it would produce? Also, what cars have an EJ205?

Thanks in advance for educating my ignorant arse!

Post Thanks / Like
    To keep things simple, these are the stock motors/donor cars known to work at this time (FFR stated):

'02-'07 Impreza base 2.5 N/A, 165 HP, EJ251/EJ253
    '02-'05 Impreza WRX, 2.0 liter turbo, 227 HP, EJ205
    '06-'07 Impreza WRX, 2.5 liter turbo, 227 HP, EJ255 (official, concensus is the factory under rated it)

Engine-wise, the STIs will work, but not some of the suspension or transmission (FFR, officially)
    '04-'07 Impreza WRX STI, 2.5 liter 300 HP, EJ257

The (basically stockish) trick would be to get the '06-'07 WRX 2.5 liter and add the STI turbo, intercooler, and engine tune for the 300HP rating.

I'm sure many others will walk you through the ENDLESS non-stock possibilities. It truely is "how fast can you afford to go?"
    Last edited by PhyrraM; 11-28-2011 at 08:26 PM.

Post Thanks / Like