FormaCars

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Fan wiring

Post Thanks / Like

Fan wiring

Hi all
    Quick question as I'm a newbie on electrics.

My 33 with Coyote 5.0 was started by someone else and they haven't, as far as I can tell, used the orange Coyote wire to run the cooling fan, the original fan fuse and relay are still in the fuse box. And to be honest I can't find a black box that looks like the one shown in the FFR Coyote installation manual, but maybe I'm blind!!
    So I was intending to just go with the standard FFR Hot Rod wiring for the fan which shows the blue fan wire connected to the blue wire in the harness, and the ground from the fan connected to the sensor at the bottom of the radiator. Will that work?
    Second question, in that set up, does the green thermo wire do anything, or do I just cut it back and tape it up?
    FYI, the engine is running well, it settles down nicely after a few minutes and ticks over at I'm guessing around 900rpm, but at the moment the fan isn't coming on and although the wiring for the temp sensor seems to be correct I'm not getting any movement on the dial.
    Sorry if I'm being stupid but as I said electrics aren't my strong point.
    I suspect this may be the first of many electrical questions from me

Post Thanks / Like
    Use the orange wire and let the Coyote ECU decide when it needs cooling.

1. Extend and connect the orange wire to the fan positive.
    2. Connect other fan wire to ground.
    3. Test for correct operation. Cut in is around 82C depending on coyote generation.
    4. Crack a beer.
    Last edited by Nigel Allen; 11-17-2023 at 08:17 PM.
    Mk.4 FFR supplied Right hand drive
    Received 12/2012 completed 12/2019
    Gen1 Coyote / TKO600 / IRS
    Lots of mods to make compliant for Australian design rules

Post Thanks / Like