BluePrint Engines

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  3

Thread: Looking for feedback on my build as I get started

Post Thanks / Like

Looking for feedback on my build as I get started

Hi All,

As I am moving through the first few months of my roadster build, I thought I would share my plans and see if there is any feedback from the group.

My background is that I am a software engineer (Aerospace degree originally) and have a pretty good amount of experience with cars but am no expert. I have a 1968 Corvette that I did a complete restomod with a Sniper injected 600hp 496 big block (from Blueprint engines) and a Tremec 5 speed. All suspension, brakes (Wilwood), cooling, wiring, interior, and drive train I modified and did the work myself. I’m super proud of it. Currently I have the suspension, steering, fuel tank and lines, brakes, and cockpit panels done. I am ejoying the heck out of it!

The roadster I am building is going to be for my wife as well. While I have driven my corvette for years, she has never driven a car like this, so I am concerned about it getting away from her even thought she will most likely drive it like an old lady. I will not be racing the car, and to be honest, I drive pretty calmly most of the time in my corvette other than some fun acceleration from time to time. I have learned some things from the Corvette that I want to make sure to implement with the roadster. I will point those out below. For my roadster I am planning a few things that will anger the purists, but I am used to that with my restomod Corvette.

Drive Train
    LS3 376ci from Blueprint Engines
    4l70e auto transmission from Blueprint Engines with the motor
    IRS rear end from FFR
    Paddle Shifters (haven’t decided which ones yet)
    Wilwood brakes from FFR
    Traction Control (RaceTCS seems to have a great system) – this is more of a safety thing of course

Interior
    Different high back seats (haven’t decided which ones yet)