Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  5
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Greetings From Idaho

Post Thanks / Like

Greetings From Idaho

Hello All from Idaho (near Boise),

I plan to retire towards the end of the year and need my next project to keep my brain active as well as to fulfill a bucket list item: Build/Own/Drive a Roadster.

My build objective is to have the roadster be used for cruising to local events and around the mountains of Idaho and the Pacific NW. I would like the Roadster to be easy to start, have no bad driving habits (e.g., twitchy at speed) and would like to keep the look as close as possible to the original. I have done limited work on my cars (mostly in college) and extensive mechanical and electrical work as part of my job. Consequently, I am comfortable with the mechanical and electrical aspects of the build. I have no welding experience, so I do not plan any modifications that require this skill set. I have poor painting skills so will have a pro handle the body prep and painting though may do the aluminum and undercoating. I have a constraint of one garage bay for the build during the winter months so I will need to plan my build schedule carefully. I looked at the build school but the travel costs to attend while I am still working are steep (prefer the $ go towards the build), so at this time I am not planning to take advantage of the class.

Over the last few months, I have been reading the forum build threads and comments as well as the FFR documentation and videos. Based on this reading, below is the build spec that I have developed so far and would appreciate any feedback or critique.

If there are forum members in the Boise area that would be willing to share their build experience I would very much like to meet.

Thanks Andrew

FFR Configuration: Complete Kit with
    - IRS
    - Halibrand 17x9 and 17x10.5 Wheels
    - Power Steering
    - Wilwood Brakes Front and Rear
    - IRS 3.55 Center Section, Spindles, and Hubs