FormaCars

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: So I Stupidly / Deliberately Bought a Car That Needs a Bunch of Work - DONOR THREAD

Post Thanks / Like

My donor thread - 04 wrx

There's no good running WRXs for less than about $8k around here, so I grabbed a running, tagged, one for 5k. I have ZERO experience working on cars, though my work on computers calls for an engineers discipline. The goal of this folly is to spend a few months going over this car, fixing all the issues as needed, and gathering tools and learning systems so on Dec 20, when my kit is scheduled, I'm not faced with an 818 kit, a crashed WRX and zero skills.

Vital Statistics

• 2004 WRX Blobeye Wagon
    • 186,742 miles at purchase
    • San Remo Red
    • $5200 purchase price

Mechanical Issues Identified

• Oil coating both sides of engine
    • Blocked / wet PCV hard lines (front of TMIC)
    • Cracked, hardened, oily hoses
    • Ripped CV boots
    • Worn rotors - replace
    • Worn pads - replace
    • Weak first gear syncros (same as every other old WRX I've driven)
    • Steering rack wet (from below UJ) with oil/PS fluid - seals?
    • Unknown rattle on letting off throttle - up-pipe cat fragmented, heat-shields?
    • Puked a bunch of oil out in the two days before I picked her up
    • Needs a timing belt, all pulleys - last change unknown though probably at 100k ish
    • Needs a water pump - recommended by Subaru on second timing belt change
    • Gearshift bushing are utterly shot - replace
    • Some knock identified - post MAF leaks? oil contamination from PCV system?

Good Points

• No smoke from oil filler at idle, will do a proper compression check later
    • Engine runs and idles sweetly
    • No CELs - i.e. engine is not mis-firing or in limp mode, that said it's not really very happy
    • Turbo appears to boost ok though I tried to stay out of boost on the way home,