Midwest Classic Insurance

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Is this a problem? - Substantial leak from IRS center section

Post Thanks / Like

Is this a problem? - Substantial leak from IRS center section

I'm trying to figure out if I should be concerned or not. During delivery, the box containing the IRS center section fell off the loading cart. Maybe a 4' rolling fall. While the box was intact after the fall, by the time we had everything unloaded, it was apparent that much of the gear oil had leaked out:

IMG_0163.JPGIMG_0165.JPG

I opened the box, but I have no knowledge sufficient to determine whether there is any damage or whether this is to be expected.

IMG_0166.JPGIMG_0167.JPGIMG_0168.JPG

It looks ok as far as I can tell, but I just don't think I'd know unless there was a giant crack or something ridiculously obvious like that. My guess is that this is just gear oil leaking out of the vent or around the plugs because of how I left the box rather than the result of damage, but I don't know.

Can anyone offer advice on this? Any other pics that would be helpful for making a determination?

Thanks,
    Paul

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Paul,

Did you determine where it is leaking from? Looks like the pinion is wet in one of those shots...

Here's a bump for you. You might also want to call FFR and speak to the tech guys about it. They might be your best resource on this new part.

FFR 5369 Pin Drive, IRS, Trigos, Torsen, Wilwoods, FMS BOSS 302 "B" cam , Mass-flo. CA SB100 (SPCN) Registered
    Delivered 4/23/06. "Finished" 4/2012 (still not done!)

Post Thanks / Like
    Most likely the fluid leaked out of the vent fitting (next to the pink mark in your last picture). I neglected to plug mine and had a fair amount leak out when I tipped it up for painting.

Post Thanks / Like