Boig Motorsports

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  75
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 3-Gen NY 818C Build

Post Thanks / Like

3-Gen NY 818C Build

Hi all! I was going to hold off on starting a thread until after we received our kit, but with so much to do before the kit even arrives, I figure no time like the present. I've titled the thread "3-Gen" as I will be building the 818C with my Father Bob (77) and my Son Luke (14). The initial goal of the project was to try and spend more father-son time with my son, and hopefully teach him some more useful life skills than spending most of his time on the computer! As my dad and I rebuilt a 1964 1/2 Mustang when I was 15, I thought it would be a great project for all of us to work on. All three of us are headed to Mott Community College for the 818 Build school 11/13-11/15. Luckily, I'm a pilot and own my own Beechcraft Bonanza, so other than the time spent in class, feel we can safely socially distance ourselves and still attend.

We were able to find a 2004 WRX donor on Copart back in mid September for $2,000. Seemed like the ideal donor, with everything we needed. Only challenge was it was located in Savannah, GA, so I went on a 29 hour round trip from NY with a good friend of mine to pick it up. Was actually a fun (and comfortable) trip as we did it in a King Ranch F350. After disabling the aftermarket alarm system, the car fired right up and actually sounded really good.
    IMG_1214.jpg

Stripping the car and salvaging the parts took us about 4 weeks, and then the carcass was sent to scrap we recovered $45... (Every little bit helps). As our kit isn't scheduled for pickup until 12/19, I didn't have the manual, so based it almost fully on the list of donor parts provided by FFR and the Grass Roots Motorsports video series on the build. Ironically, David did provide me the manual just yesterday, which will definitely help as we prep parts ahead of the kit arriving.