Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  9
Likes Likes:  44
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lawson's 818C

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Lawson's 818C

While I've technically been working on this project for 6 months, the real progress on the build has just begun and the 818 part is still a few months down the road. I figured now would be a good time to start a build thread and introduce myself since I'll be asking more questions on the forum as I begin working on the donor and kit parts. I'm a Georgia Tech mechanical engineering student from Georgia, but my build will actually take place entirely in Michigan. I'm co-oping with General Motors (alternating school/work semesters) and all of my time on the build will happen during my work semesters. This means that I will only be making any progress during 6 months or so out of every year but the upside is I plan to make that a very productive 6 months. I've gotten to look at Hindsight's 818S in Atlanta and there are lots of great builds on here that I know I'll steal a few good ideas from.

A little info on my build as it stands:
    • Donor Car- 2004 Subaru WRX with an STI shortblock and WRX heads that I picked up for $2300. It's not in great shape, but perhaps worth what I payed.
    • Kit Delivery and Options- I ordered an 818C kit with the ktuned shifter, carpeting, and powder coated frame. Kit delivery in May 2018.
    • I'm currently tearing down the donor and rebuilding the engine before I take delivery of the kit.

Goals:
    • Street legal car
    • Comfort features such as power locks, A/C, and stereo. A/C especially for a coupe that I plan to drive in GA.
    • Modest power goals- ~300hp at the crank