Midwest Classic Insurance

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: 2001 MK Roadster missing VIN

Post Thanks / Like

2001 MK Roadster missing VIN

Good evening,

This is my first time on the forum and I'm hoping someone can help me with this.

I just purchased a late model MK Roadster and for some inexplicable reason the VIN has been removed from the cockpit above the drivers right knee. Is there anywhere else on the chassis that a serial number or VIN is stamped?

Thank you!

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Hi Mike, welcome to the forum.

The FRAME ID you refer to exists for MKIII and later kits. Your thread title says 2001. If your kit is from that timeframe the frame ID will be located inside the 2x3 tube viewable on the driver's side behind the left rear tire.

If the local DMV (In Cali it's the CHP) assigned a VIN it could be located anywhere. On my MKIII they did not use the frame ID but instead my VIN is riveted onto the front X-member in between the front tires in the engine compartment.

HTH,

FFR 5369 Pin Drive, IRS, Trigos, Torsen, Wilwoods, FMS BOSS 302 "B" cam , Mass-flo. CA SB100 (SPCN) Registered
    Delivered 4/23/06. "Finished" 4/2012 (still not done!)

Post Thanks / Like
    There was no factory vin on that generation car. We used to install a stamped vin on the car we build. There is however a frame production number welded into the 2x4 tube behind the drivers seat . I don't remember of you add 1001 or 1011 to it to get the VIN. You can get that production number and call FFR and they should be able to tell you.
    99/2000 NASA PSO Champion-2005 west coast FFR challenge series Champions
    Sponsor Tony B's 2007 ST2 National Championship
    2009 NASA TTC runner up-2010 NASA TTB runner up

Post Thanks / Like
    http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b7...duation/65.jpg

If it's any help at all, my 2004 frame has the number in the cockpit above the driver's LEFT knee.

Post Thanks / Like