Very Cool Parts

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2

Thread: New to Forum. Intro..........

Post Thanks / Like

New to Forum. Intro..........

Hello all,

My name is Marc. I am 62 years old. I live in Plano, a suburb of Dallas. I have a desire to build one of the FFR Type 65 Coupes. Some info about my back ground.

I was a part time machinist while in high school and held a full time job there until I was in my mid 20's. Aside from building parts for Texas Instruments we also raced a 1968 Mustang in the SCCA region here. We also modified many a street car as well as other track cars. We designed and build high Vac plating machines as well as many other projects that we as employees were tasked with and left to design and building our selves. So we all could weld, machine and figure out just about any task.

Then for the next 15 years of life I got into fabricating composite cabinetry for military aircraft such as C 130's which were configured as hospital ships. Worked on a few interiors of VIP L 1011 Aircraft, one of which was for the king Hussein of Jordan. Then I got into Corporate aircraft interiors. Mainly retrofitting interiors to the new owners specifications. Re configure the aircraft to fit their needs. Mostly composite cabinetry, panel mods and also designing new cabinetry. I also did soft goods covering. We also did complete retro fits or refurbs.

Then I was asked by a friend to help help him, a friend who I worked with at the first shop. He was a one man shop that moved into a facility to be the support shop. He asked me to come help him modify, design and install production high vacuum plating machines for production of optic filters. While there for just under 2 years we set up, modified and brought on line over 20 systems. Then the first Tech Crash hit. We were sold off and within a year shut down. My wife's job in the financial world cratered as well with buy out after buy outs.