Forte's

Visit our community sponsor

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3

Thread: Jom's Type '65 Coupe kick-off

Post Thanks / Like

Jom's Type '65 Coupe kick-off

Hello everyone, another Quebecer here embarking on the journey of putting a '65 Coupe on the road. Pulled the trigger November 3rd last year, for a pickup date of June 4, 2022.

Mechanical engineer by training, I’ve been working in aerospace manufacturing for 15 years. In the past 10 years, with the help of a friend, I have learnt to repair various things on the three cars we now have in the driveway, mostly used to provide taxi services for our sons as I work from home a lot.

The same friend suggested building Cobra’s, and when I had a look at the Factory Five website, it was not the roadster that interested me, but the Coupe that got me hooked. We visited Factory Five in September 2019, and I have since remodeled my single car garage to make room for the project.

I am planning to complete the build in three years or so, as I’m really not retired yet. Starting from the Canadian kit with IRS, I plan to power it with a used Coyote and use a TKX transmission. I am considering the BOIG single side pipes (if they will still be available), and as ‘custom’ features to include real side windows (power or manual) as well as a dash with fewer ‘straight lines’.

Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to the madness as others have said!
    Where are you located?
    I’m between Quebec City and Baie Saint-Paul.
    Bienvenue!

Post Thanks / Like
    Thank-you so much. It may not be so easy in Quebec, but it can be done! A colleague of mine built an MK4 roadster and is driving it with pleasure.
    I'm located on the south shore. Do you know how many Coupe have been started in Quebec?

Here are some more details of what I have in the planning.

My order
    50020 Gen 3 Type 65 Coupe - Base Kit (Canada)
    60743 Powder coated chassis - Black
    60510 Coupe GPS Metric Gauges (km/h)
    60330 Body with all cut-outs traced